Gorillaz Releases Free iPad-made Album ‘The Fall’

Gorillaz, the cartoon-styled supergroup, has just dropped a Christmas present for its fans: the band’s new EP The Fall, an album entirely recorded and mixed on an iPad, is now available on the band’s website. The album features fifteen track recorded during the band’s tour earlier this year, and most songs are inspired by the cities Gorillaz performed at. Damon Albarn, the band frontman, used over a dozen apps to put the record together, including AmpliTube, Gliss, SoundyThingie, Speak It!, Funx Box, Mugician and Xenon. Thanks to the use of the iPad, the album was put together and released in a matter of weeks:
I literally made it on the road in America over a month. […] If I left it until the New Year to release it, then the cynics out there would say, ‘Oh well, it’s been tampered with.’ But if I put it out now, they’d know that I haven’t done anything because I’ve been on tour ever since.
Fan club members can download the entire album for free, while non-members are offered audio streams on Gorilla’s website. Here is the complete tracklist for The Fall:
  • Phoner to Arizona
  • Revolving Doors
  • Hillbilly Man
  • Detroit
  • Shy-town
  • Little Pink Plastic Bag
  • The Joplin Spider
  • The Parish of Space Dust
  • The Snake in Dallas
  • Amarillo
  • The Speak It Mountains
  • Aspen Forest
  • Bobby in Phoenix
  • California and the Slipping of the Sun
  • Seattle Yodel
Here is one of the band’s video clips, Phoner to Arizona: